*WELCOME CEREMONY — Australian Meteorological and Oceanographic Society
8:45AM - 9:15AM
Room 1 (Auditorium 2)

Welcome from AMOS President

Welcome To Country from Donna Jackson, Larrakia Woman


Introduction to AMOS and AMOS-ICTMO2019

Welcome new Fellows of AMOS - Dr Penny Whetton and A/Prof Todd Lane

Presentation of AMOS Awards for 2018:

  • Gibbs Medal: Dr Michael Pook
  • Science Outreach Award: Dr Andrew King
  • Morton Medal: Prof Christian Jakob

RH Clarke Lecture: Prof Christian Jakob

Welcome from convenors of AMOS-ICTMO2019

Plenary: Dr Ro Hill





Donna Jackson is a Larrakia woman from the Browne family. Her areas of expertise include: ethnobiology, Welcome to Country speeches, guided bush tucker walks, local history and environment lectures, cross-cultural training presentations.

Donna holds a Diploma in Applied Science: Natural and Cultural Resource Management from Batchelor Institute of Indigenous Tertiary Education (BIITE). She has worked with the Larrakia Nation, in various roles in the past 20 years, most recently as the manager of the Larrakia Rangers program from 2015 – 2017.  She is currently a freelance consultant.